Silkscreen Postcards

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This week I spent my free time working on making postcards to distribute. I started off drawing on a block of wood, carving the block, and then printing it. I scanned the print into the computer and turned it into a digital printout. You may ask, why wouldn’t you just scan in the drawing? Good question. By creating a woodcut, the image has a distinct woodcutty quality that’s difficult to recreate.

The thing about printmaking is that the process takes a while to set up (making the films, prepping the screen, exposing the screen, washing out the screen), but once everything is set up the printing process goes pretty quickly. The chipboard was 12″x24″ to start off and to build up the image I printed each color using a different screen. After printing I cut down the chipboard into postcard size using the guillotine, which is a nifty little (and by little I mean huge) device that cuts down a stack of chipboard in one fell swoop.

About mitchcollective

MITCH Collective is a community-driven catalyst promoting creativity in the Ohio Valley. MITCH Collective enriches Martins Ferry, Ohio and nearby towns by: -inviting artists, writers, and musicians to experience the beauty and creative potential of the area while creating new work and interacting with local residents through the residency program. -inspiring a historically economically depressed area by teaching new skills and ideas that will help foster new problem solving approaches for challenges that face the community. -collaborating with nonprofit and municipal organizations in Ohio, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania to bring innovative, interdisciplinary projects to life. Facilities include printmaking, screen printing, sewing, quilting, and bookbinding. Visit www.mitchcollective.org for more information.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Silkscreen Postcards

  1. mandy says:

    They look fantastic!

  2. Maria Hamilton says:

    Siena the post cards are beautiful! I am sure you don’t remember me…but I am Josie’s ex step-mother…lol sorry that is so odd to say it is funny..I adore Josie and we just had a great visit on Monday. I live in Steubenville and I am so excited for you and your new endeavor. The Ohio Valley does have a lot to offer and I think it is wonderful what you are bringing to us. I hope I can bring my daughter Gracie to Martins Ferry and may be even do some volunteer work for you as we believe in the cause. All the best to you and to the Mitch Collective…much success!

Leave a Reply

